13 May 2016

  • Greece head coach Michael Skibbe names fierce squad to play Socceroos at ANZ Stadium 4 June
  • Pre-game party celebrating all things Greek and European culture in Sydney Olympic Park
  • Socceroos v Greece caps off massive #WeekOfBlockbusters with State of Origin I on 1 June and Vivid Sydney

           Greek Striker Kostas Mitroglou one of many big-name players in the Greece squad

Julian Keith

GREEK football’s biggest names are set to dazzle the crowd at ANZ Stadium when they face the Socceroos on Saturday 4 June.

Players like Kostas Mitroglou, Sokratis Papastathopolous, Andreas Samaris and Vasilis Torosidis have all been named in head coach Michael Skibbe’s 31-man squad that’s set to light up the Stadium in the first game of The Dodoni Series next month.

You can grab your ticket to Socceroos v Greece here.

The Dodoni Series will play an important role for the two teams as they look to build momentum before the third round of FIFA World Cup Qualifying begins later this year.

While the Socceroos are set to enjoy huge home support, there is sure to be plenty of sky blue and white in the stadium as the Galanolefki will have the backing of a large and passionate Greek Australian community.

The fun will start early on the day with a Greek-style party featuring good food and bars in the Sydney Olympic Park precinct that will celebrate Greek and European culture before gates open at 6pm.

The blockbuster international will cap a #WeekOfBlockbusters in Sydney with Game I of the 2016 Holden State of Origin series just three nights earlier on Wednesday 1 June.

Ange Postecoglou is set to name his Socceroos squad for The Dodoni Series next week.

Check out the full Greek squad below:

Goalkeepers: Orestis Karnezis (Udinese), Stefanos Kapino (Olympiakos)

Defenders: Loukas Vyntra (Hapoel Tel Aviv), Stelios Kitsiou (Paok), Vangelis Moras (Verona), Michaalis Boukouvalas (Iraklis), Marios Economou (Bologna), Sokratis Papastathopoulos (Borussia Dortmund), Dimitris Siovas (Olympiakos), Kostas Stafylidis (FC Augsburg), Giorgos Tzavellas (Paok), Vasilis Torosidis (Roma), Jose Holebas (Watford)

Midfielders: Andreas Samaris (Benfica), Alexandros Tziolis (Paok), Panagiotis Kone (Fiorentina), Giannis Maniatis (Standard Liege), Petros Mantalos (AEK), Dimitris Pelkas (Paok), Panagiotis Tachtsidis (Genoa), Giannis Fetfatzidis (Al-Ahli), Kostas Fortounis (Olympiakos)

Forwards: Kostas Mitroglou (Benfica), Christos Aravidis (AEK), Apostolos Vellios (Iraklis), Giannis Gianniotas (Apoel), Dimitris Diamantakos (Karlsruher SC), Nikos Karelis (Racing Genk), Anastasios Bakasetas (Panionios), Thanassis Papazoglou (KV Kortrigk), Lazaros Christodoulopoulos (Sampdoria)


You can guarantee a premium seat to this game and every regular sporting event at the Stadium by becoming an ANZ Stadium Member. To enquire about ANZ Stadium Membership, click here.

Or, impress and indulge your clients with ANZ Stadium's Official Hospitality packages. Choose between a Private Suite, Zone Box or a table of 10 in our Trophy Room to entertain your important clients. Enquiries here.