30 Jun 2016

A new board has been appointed to ANZ Stadium following its return to public ownership, Minister for Sport Stuart Ayres announced today.

The return of the stadium to public ownership clears the way for the NSW Government to begin the process of redeveloping the Stadium into a world-class rectangular venue.

Mr Ayres announced businesswoman Christine McLoughlin will chair the stadium’s board with other appointees, marketing and advertising professional Sharon Skeggs, former Wallaby Phil Kearns and Executive Director for Office of Sport Paul Doorn.

"There will be no change in the day to day operations, and the stadium’s current management will continue to manage the business under a third-party agreement," Mr Ayres said.

"ANZ Stadium is now a feature piece in the Sydney network of venues owned by the public, including Pirtek Stadium, Allianz Stadium and the Sydney Cricket Ground."

Incoming ANZ Stadium Chairman Christine McLoughlin welcomed the opportunity to lead the board of such an important public asset.

"Given the NSW Government’s commitment to sporting infrastructure, the future of the venue is extremely bright and prosperous and I look forward to seeing ANZ Stadium continue to be Australia’s home of major events," Ms McLoughlin said.

ANZ Stadium will be operated by VenuesLive Management Services (formerly Stadium Australia Operations).

The board will commence on July 1, 2016.